State-wise List of Indian Governors

Are you ready for UPSC Exam? Check your preparation with Free UPSC Mock Test

The Governor in the Republic of India is the constitutional head of each of the twenty-eight states in India. The governor is appointed by the President of India. The tenure of the appointed Governor is 5 years. The Governor is the head of the state government and all the executive decisions are taken in the governor’s name. The governor must act on the advice of the council of ministers, headed by the chief minister which holds the factors of executive authority at the state level. The Constitution of India also empowers the governor to act on his discretion. Let us see the list of Indian Governors and their details.

Indian Governors

Do you want to crack UPSC in first attempt? Join UPSC Telegram Channel

Indian Governors

Prof. Jagdish Mukhi is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party and RSS. He previously held positions of Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Minister of Finance, Planning, Excise, Taxation, and Higher Education in the Delhi Government. His performance was best appreciated in the Loksabha & Vidhan sabha elections of Haryana where BJP has got results to the best ever performance and the first time in Haryana BJP chief minister without any support has taken the oath.

Sushri Anusuiya Uikey is currently the Governor of Chhattisgarh. She was elected to Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly from Damua Constituency in the 1985 Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly election as a member of the Indian National Congress. She became a member of the Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh in 2006. Also, She was the Minister of Women and Child Development.

Shri Bhagat Singh Koshyari is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) from Uttarakhand. He was previously an RSS Veteran and had also served as the National Vice President of BJP. He was also the party’s first State President of Uttarakhand. Also he served as an MLC in Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council and MLA Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly. He also served as a Member of Parliament in the Rajya Sabha and MP in the 16th Lok Sabha.

Shri Biswa Bhushan Harichandan is an Indian Politician who is serving as the 23rd Governor of Andhra Pradesh. He joined the Bharatiya Jana Sangha in 1971. However, he joined hands with Janata Dal then again went back to the Bharatiya Janata party in 1996. He was a Cabinet Minister in the BJD-BJP coalition government in 2004.

Shri Tathagata Roy had previously been the Governor of Tripura. As an engineer, he is a founder- head of construction engineering at Jadavpur University in Kolkata. He also served a brief tenure in the office of Governor of Arunachal Pradesh. He is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party who also swore in Pema Khandu as the Chief Minister.

R.N Ravi is an Indian Politician. He is serving as the Governor of Nagaland and is from Bihar. He retired as the special director of the Intelligence Bureau in 2012. Also he is the 19th Governor of the state of Nagaland. He also served as the Chairman of the Joint Intelligence Committee. He was appointed as Deputy National Security Advisor of India in 2018.

Shri Jagdeep Dhankar is an Indian Politician who belongs to the Bharatiya Janata Party. He is an advocate of the Supreme Court and a member of the Lok Sabha from 1989 to 1991. He was an MP from Jhunjhunu in Rajasthan in the 9th Lok Sabha. Also He represented Janata Dal then. He was a former President of the Rajasthan High Court Bar Association, Jaipur.

Dr. Kiran Bedi is India’s first woman officer in the Indian Police Service (IPS). She was a tennis player, a social activist. As an officer of IPS, she introduced many reforms in the Tihar Jail. This made her win the Ramon Magsaysay Award in 1994. She was one of the key leaders in the Anti-corruption movement in 2011. She joined the Bharatiya Janata Party in 2015.

Banwarilal Purohit is an Indian politician and the 21st Governor of Tamil Nadu. He was appointed as the Governor of Assam in 2016. He was also a member of the Parliament from Nagpur constituency thrice. Out of the 3 times that he was elected, twice he represented the Indian National Congress. The third time he represented the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Girish Chandra Murmu is the 14th Comptroller and Auditor General of India. He was also the first Lieutenant Governor of the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir. He is a former Indian Administrative Service officer. During his tenure, he worked in the Gujarat cadre with Narendra Modi – the present PM of India as of 2020.

List of Governors of India

StateCurrent GovernorDate Governor Took Over 
Andhra PradeshShri Biswa Bhusan HarichandanJuly 24, 2019
Arunachal PradeshBrig. (Dr.) B. D. Mishra (Retd)October 3, 2017
AssamProf. Jagdish MukhiOctober 1, 2017
BiharShri Phagu ChauhanJuly 29, 2019
ChhattisgarhSushri Anusuiya UikeyJuly 29, 2019
GoaShri Satya Pal MalikNovember 3, 2019
GujaratShri Acharya Dev VratJuly 22, 2019
HaryanaShri Satyadev Narayan AryaAugust 25, 2018
Himachal PradeshShri Bandaru DattatreyaSeptember 11, 2019
JharkhandShrimati Droupadi MurmuMay 18, 2015
KarnatakaShri Vajubhai ValaSeptember 1, 2014
KeralaShri Arif Mohammad KhanSeptember 6, 2019
Madhya PradeshShri Lal Ji TandonJuly 29, 2019
MaharashtraShri Bhagat Singh KoshyariSeptember 5, 2019
ManipurDr. Najma HeptullaAugust 21, 2016
MeghalayaShri Tathagata RoyJanuary 27, 2020
MizoramShri P.S. Sreedharan PillaiNovember 5, 2019
NagalandShri R. N. RaviAugust 1, 2019
OdishaProf. Ganeshi LalMay 29, 2018
PunjabShri V.P. Singh BadnoreAugust 22, 2016
RajasthanShri Kalraj MishraSeptember 9, 2019
SikkimShri Ganga PrasadAugust 26, 2018
Tamil NaduShri Banwarilal PurohitOctober 6, 2017
TelanganaDr. Tamilisai SoundararajanSeptember 8, 2019
TripuraShri Ramesh BaisJuly 29, 2019
Uttar PradeshSmt. Anandiben PatelJuly 29, 2019
UttarakhandSmt. Baby Rani MauryaAugust 26, 2018
West BengalShri Jagdeep DhankharJuly 30, 2019

The post of the Lieutenant Governor/Administrator of a Union Territory is the same as the Governor of a State. The LG is appointed by the President of India. The tenure is 5 years.

Union TerritoryLieutenant Governor (LG)/ AdministratorDate LG Took Over 
Andaman & Nicobar IslandsAdmiral D.K. Joshi (LG)October 8, 2017
ChandigarhShri V.P. Singh Badnore (Administrator)August 22, 2016
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuShri Praful Patel (Administrator)January 26, 2020
The Government of NCT of DelhiShri Anil Baijal (LG)December 31, 2016
Jammu & KashmirShri Girish Chandra Murmu (LG)October 31, 2019
LadakhShri Radha Krishna Mathur (LG)October 31, 2019
LakshadweepShri Dineshwar Sharma (Administrator)November 3, 2019
PuducherryDr. Kiran Bedi (LG)May 29, 2016


Indian Governors are responsible for reporting the progress and tasks done by the chief minister and its ministers in the state to the Central. He works as the link between the State and Central. His role in the Republic of India is kind of similar to that of the President of India’s.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.