Indian Cabinet Ministers and Their Constituencies

Are you ready for UPSC Exam? Check your preparation with Free UPSC Mock Test

The Union Council of Ministers in India consists of the following categories.

  • Cabinet Ministers
  • Ministers of State (independent charge)
  • Ministers of State
  • Deputy Ministers

In this article, we will learn about Indian Cabinet Ministers and their Constituencies.

Indian Cabinet Ministers

Do you want to crack UPSC in first attempt? Join UPSC Telegram Channel

Indian Cabinet Ministers

The executive authority of the Republic of India is exercised by the Indian Cabinet Ministers. The Cabinet is led by the Prime Minister of India. This as a whole is known as the Union Cabinet. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won the General Election 2019; thereby electing Shri Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister of India as of 2019.

Minister of State (independent charge) is a Minister who is a minister without an overseeing Cabinet Minister in the State or the Union government. He is in charge of his own Ministry.

Minister of State is a minister of junior rank in the Council of Ministers in Union Government who may assist a cabinet minister or have independent charge of a ministry.

Deputy Minister is the minister (if any) who presides when the Prime Minister is not present. Example – Sardar Vallabhai Patel, who later became a PM, was once a Deputy Prime Minister.

List of Cabinet Ministers of India

Serial No. Cabinet Minister of IndiaPortfolio (Responsibilities of Departments)Constituency
1.Narendra Modi
  • Prime Minister and also in-charge of Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions
  • Department of Atomic Energy
  • Department of Space
  • All important policy issues
  • All other portfolios which are not allocated to any Ministers.
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
2.Raj Nath Singh
  • Minister of Defence
Lucknow, U.P
3.Amit Shah
  • Minister of Home Affairs
Gandhi Nagar, Gujarat
4.Nitin Jairam Gadkari
  • Minister of Road Transport and Highways
  • Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
Nagpur, Maharashtra
5.D.V. Sadananda Gowda
  • Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers
Bangalore North, Karnataka
6.Nirmala Sitharaman
  • Minister of Finance
  • Minister of Corporate Affairs
Rajya Sabha (Karnatka)
7.Ramvilas Paswan
  • Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
(Rajya Sabha) Hajipur, Bihar
8.Narendra Singh Tomar
  • Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
  • Minister of Rural Development
  • Panchayati Raj Minister
Morena, M.P
9.Ravi Shankar Prasad
  • Minister of Law and Justice
  • Communications Minister
  • Minister of Electronics and Information Technology
Patna Sahib, Bihar
10.Harsimrat Kaur Badal
  • Minister of Food Processing Industries.
Bathinda, Punjab
11.Shri Thaawar Chand Gehlot
  • Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment
Rajya Sabha (M.P)
12.Subrahmanyam Jaishankar
  • Minister of External Affairs.
Rajya Sabha (Gujarat)
13.Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’
  • Minister of Human Resource Development
Hardwar, Uttarakhand
14.Arjun Munda
  • Minister of Tribal Affairs
Khunti, Jharkhand
15.Smriti Zubin Irani
  • Minister of Women and Child Development
  • Minister of Textiles
Amethi, U.P
16.Dr. Harsh Vardhan
  • Minister of Health and Family Welfare
  • Science and Technology Minister
  • Minister of Earth Sciences.
Chandni Chowk, New Delhi
17.Prakash Javadekar
  • Minister of Environment, Forest and ClimateChange
  • Information and Broadcasting Minister
  • Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises
Rajya Sabha (M.P)
18.Piyush Goyal
  • Minister of Railways
  • Minister of Commerce and Industry
Rajya Sabha (Maharashtra)
19.Dharmendra Pradhan
  • Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas
  • Minister of Steel
Rajya Sabha (M.P)
20.Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi
  • Minister of Minority Affairs
Rajya Sabha (Jharkhand)
21.Pralhad Joshi
  • Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
  • Coal Minister
  • Minister of Mines
Dharwad, Karnataka
22.Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey
  • Minister of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
Chandauli, U.P
23.Giriraj Singh
  • Minister of Animal Husbandry, Dairying, and Fisheries
Begusarai, Bihar
24.Gajendra Singh Shekhawat
  • Minister of Jal Shakti.
Jodhpur, Rajasthan


So We have seen the Indian Cabinet Ministers and their constituencies. All the following ministers were appointed on 30th May 2019 representing Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The Minister of State’s example is – Ministry of Human Resources Development which is currently occupied by Sanjay Shamrao Dhotre. The example of the Minister of State (independent charge) is the Ministry of (independent charge) Labour and Employment which is currently occupied by Santosh Gangwar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.